Branches of ASGSAC



Executive Branch (Cabinet)

Led by ASG President

A commissioner is a member of the Executive Cabinet. Commissioners act as advisors to the student body president in their given area of responsibility. There may be up to 13 cabinet members, including the President, Vice President, ICC President, Treasurer, and Trustee.

Cabinet meetings are held Mondays, at 1:30 PM.

Legislative Branch (Senate)

Led by ASG Vice President

The Senate, also known as the legislative branch, is responsible for making laws that affect the Associated Student Government. They pass laws in accordance the ASGSAC Constitution and Bylaws, approve or disapprove the student budget, expenditures, and presidential appointments. Senators are assigned as liaisons to the various departments on campus and must meet with the area Dean (for example, Business or Math and Science). They also must be an active member of at least one committee.

The Senate meets every Tuesday, at 3:15 PM.

Judicial Branch (Court)

Led by ASG Chief Justice

Court justices judge all matters brought before the court pertaining to the Associated Student Government of Santa Ana College. Upon request for review, the court interprets and reviews laws, which are enacted or proposed. The court may also be asked to review current laws. In cases of actual disputes, the Court has the power to declare the legal rights and relation of interested parties. The Court is also responsible for all student elections – enforcing the rules, supervising polling places, and certifying the elections.

Meetings are held on Fridays (2x per month) at 9:30-10:30 AM.

Visit sac.edu/StudentServices/ASG for more information including the Constitution and Bylaws